View Single Post
Old 01-02-2008, 12:35 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Pacific Salmon on Flies - By Dennis Dickson

A good article Mr. Dickson.

I live in Wasilla Alaska and fish my States waters for Salmon every year. I should tell you that I have been fishing nothing but flies that I tie since 1975. Prior to that I would still use a baited hook if I thought it would be more effective than an artificial. Those were my Jack of All Trades years.

Without digressing too far into the "I've been doing this long before some of you were born" presentation I'll get to the real point. I fish every year from the Mat Su Valley and the Kenai Peninsula to Kodiak Island and I catch all four species of Salmon and the Steelhead Trout that run our rivers. I catch them on streamers and attractor patterns such as Comets. Sometimes I catch fish on greased Muddlers or Bombers skidded across the surface but always I catch fish because they take the fly!

When I find fish who won't take it there seem to be underlying circumstances that usually are related to human pressure on the fish. Salmon, Trout, Char, or for that much few fish that I've ever encountered will take a bite of food when spooked. If you are hovering directly over a King Salmon regardless of how far it is from the salt, it usually won't take a fly or anything else for that matter.