View Single Post
Old 07-16-2012, 06:49 AM

recriger will become famous soon enough
Red face My rod tried to use ME as the bate!!

So I supose I'm a lucky guy. I went fishing Saturday morning and didn't catch anything, but 5 hours dissappeared that I couldn't account for so i'm betting it was a good time. Saturday evening my wife asked me "Are you going fishing in the morning?". My response was a tad less than intelligent..."uuuuuuh, you'd let me? I'd, um...". She had a brunch planned so she WANTED me to go. How cool is that?

Anyway, I'm a newbie so I stopped by the local fly shop. I am currently learning how to tie my own flies, but as I told the guys at the shop, I wanted to get some flies so I could keep fishing in the mean time. They have starter boxes there but were out of the boxes for Small mouth. I asked him to pick out some flies that would help me get some fish on the line.

I have the feeling that the ones chosen are a little heavy for my set-up. I currently have a 8'6" medium 5wt loaded with WFF. It is one of the combo's from Bass-Pro, White River I believe. They had also picked out a bass leader, so I tied on a 8lb tapered leader and some 3X tippet. The first one didn't cast too bad, but the other 2 flies and the streamer were a nightmare. As I would build the cast the leader looked like a windmill blade with the line-leader connection as the axle.