View Single Post
Old 09-29-2012, 06:38 AM

Pocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond reputePocono has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Time To Talk About Some New Fly Swaps;

Hmmmm..............new Fly Swaps; a very good idea!

I've been living a little under a rock for the past 6 months, maybe longer, but I have my tying table set up now in a new location (the one I used in the Poconos) and my vise is looking at me longingly, or vice verssa, on a daily basis.

I have some level of experience in coordinating Fly Swaps, so here are my views:

- I think that, as others have said, they should remain unclassified (as to level; beginner, intermediate, advanced). I think that it's great experience for the beginners to jump into a swap that's going to be based on flies that they'll use for their own fishing. And since a lot of us have experienced that perfectly tyed flies and flies that still need some attention seem to catch fish at about the same rate (admittedly, perfectly tyed flies are much better at catching fishermen!), I think that it's a good idea to mix the skill levels in swaps.

- I think that containers should be whatever works for you, as long as you would not mind receiving your swap flies back in the same container. The vast majority of flies that I received from swap members came in Altoid tins; which seem to work just fine for all but the largest flies.