View Single Post
Old 03-18-2013, 04:25 PM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sage Fly Rod Cosmetics

Quote:
Originally Posted by swirlchaser View Post
My argument here isn't "tool" or "jewelry", it's value.

I'm not too hung up on appearance but I do want to see VALUE. If I pay $800 for a rod I expect it to perform AND top notch components. I guess I'm a bit jaded because as a rod builder I know what these components cost. If I can buy that blank for $500 I expect to see $300 worth of components and workmanship or it's a bad purchase to me. So here's how I would look at this:

Sage One 9' 5wt MSRP $775

Sage One 9' 5wt blank $363

Does a factory Sage One have $412 worth of components and workmanship? I can tell you that if I get the overwhelming itch for a Sage One I will build it.
My vote for post of the day.

I'll bet you could allow yourself $25/hr, put better stuff on it, make it look better, be spined right and still come out ahead. Plus have a better built, better looking rod.

Klunker, after reading the rest of your post, have you considered having a photo taken with your car in the front yard in your holey clothes and self done hair and send it to Bill Engval for Red Neck Yard of the Week?

---------- Post added at 05:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:16 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by noreaster View Post