View Single Post
Old 04-04-2013, 07:06 PM

silvertip8k has a spectacular aura aboutsilvertip8k has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Is it really worth it ?

this thread has been going for a while...and I just cant resist to thrown in my 2 cents...

I will say after working in fly shop's for over 30 years, I learned an awful lot about this topic...not opinion...fact...the dirty little secret in the fly fishing industry...even with internet sales...

I will only speak of two tod lines here...both I have a lot of experience with...and they both are also the price points mentioned at the outset of this thread...

TFO produces an excellent rod...and a good one can be had for 150-180 bucks...the Lefty Kreh "Pro series" is a great rod...I have several and use them for lessons etc...also as back up rods guiding.and have caught some really nice fish with them...also their warranty is second to none...

retail is generally almost double of retail...ie...a 150 retail unit generally sells to a dealer for 75-85$...allowing the shop to "keystone" the cost...the term used for doubling the cost...

Sage is generally a shop item, or at least used to be...now is sold on all the better internet sales outlets too, Cabelas etc...an outstanding rod...excellent workmanship...great casters...actually my favorite "lookin" unit out there...great colors etc...

retail on a 700-800 $ sage , dealer cost is about 480$...mark up( or profit) from the sage is basically double the TFO...and has all the high end appeal...sages does a great job marketing their product...and is a status item on the stream...and to some this is extremely important...

the point here is that one sale genrates more income for a shop...and if they are geared to a "high end" clientele, it only makes sense to try andsell the best unit they can...offering quality, name brand recognition, and any prestige that goes along with it.