View Single Post
Old 04-13-2013, 06:50 PM

wallym3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reel Love; the Fly Reel Picture Thread

I see that since joining I have contributed but 4 posts. I haven't been much of a Forum visitor nor poster anywhere in some time.

I've scrolled this thread, stopping at items of particular interest, with much enjoyment. As a half-baked, self-taught machinist, I can't help but being drawn in by reels. In scrolling the entirety of the thread I have discovered much new and have been reminded of much forgotten, and have spent someworthwhile time at it. Unless contained in some of the deleted photos, I thought I might add my poor kin to this effort material that has not been previously mentioned.

The first is, of course, a Bogdan, one of quite a number that have passed through my hands (some stuck to them) over the years. "There are many like it, but this one is" special to me. Stan handed it to me over lunch here in SW Vermont one day a couple of years ago. The event was witnessed by Bob Warren (who had something to do with the speed of delivery) and Bob Hilliard, so as you can imagine, it was a most entertaining and companionable meal. The reel is a 150 RHW and already has Miramichi fish to its credit.

Click the image to open in full size.

One note: the weight of the bag is significantly heavier than the ones he used earlier on.

This second is a no name, completely without markings. I suspect it was crafted by some talented amateur. I have a mind to copy it for its "old time" grace. The plates are aluminum.

It's almost too light to be practical, though sturdy enough.