View Single Post
Old 07-02-2013, 04:19 PM

silver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Fly questions, Where are the pictures?

This is a general comment and does not apply to anyone in particular.

Developing fly fishers naturally assume that all trout in a location are feeding on the same item and if they just could get that magic fly, it would solve a lot of their problems. When I was a Newbie, I fell into this group myself. I thought if I just had someone to tell me what fly to use, I could catch fish.

The fact is that unless the fish are feeding very selectively, many flies will catch it. Not only that, but during non-selective feeding activity, which is most of the time, the fish take many types of food. They are feeding by "sampling the drift". Sampling the drift means that they take all kinds of things into their mouths, and if it is food they eat it, and if it is not food they spit it out.

Sampling the drift is the method by which the trout become selective. If the same food item comes down the conveyor belt on a regular basis, selectivity develops. The fish no longer needs to "sample" to find food. Instead it begins to recognize that item as food and the fish uses a search pattern to find that item. This is how selectivity develops.