View Single Post
Old 07-18-2013, 09:58 AM

danattherock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wind River Range...

Thanks guys. Just the wife and I coming. I showed her some random Google images of the Wind River Range at breakfast today. She is totally on board. We are more into canoeing and rafting remote float trips, but have strong bush skills, common sense, and such. What we lack is physical conditioning at the moment and insight into this area.

Looking for an easy 5-6 night trip covering 15-20 miles to get the lay of the land. Dont want to bite off more than we can chew. Perhaps a more ambitious trip for next year. Fly fishing and scenery is more important than putting in a bunch of miles. Aside from a fly fisherman, I am also an avid photographer. Google Danattherock Flickr and you can see the many sets (albums) from our travels, namely Alaska remote float trips, fly in cabins for steelhead (like the 36" in my Avatar) and such.

Long term plan, wife and I do a scouting trip or two, then bring mini me in 2-3 years after we get the lay of the land. He is only 8 months old now. Planned on taking him to Alaska each year, but with the ever increasing cost, and our financial situation at home, my fears are growing that it will be difficult. I just want him to see a bigger world than I did as a country boy growing up in rural NC. Proud of the roots, but want to give him some wings too. Around here it is a lot of farm pond fishing, NASCAR, and beer drinking by the river banks. I suspect he will enjoy it as much as I did, but I don't want him to see the rest of the country on the National Geographic Channel. I want him to see it through some polarized fishing glasses.