The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing Alaska > Alaska General Discussion

Alaska General Discussion Discuss fishing Alaska and other Alaska questions not associated with equipment.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By ptarmigan
  • 1 Post By Hardyreels
  • 1 Post By ptarmigan

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2016, 11:44 AM

mnguyendc will become famous soon enough
Smile Need some insight on fishing near Homer

Hey everybody!

This is my first time posting...but a quick tidbit about myself.

Mike, Male, Oregon born/raised, metolius/deschutes is my beater. Started fly fishing 2 years ago and I'm ridiculously addicted, to the point of changing my career.

My girlfriends dad lives in homer, and I visit there 1-2x a year for the last 3 years. I am going through some crazy life events and if this all mellows out and if physically strong enough, I plan on staying with them to help out her dad for a month or so in June 2016, and find some solitude and fish.

I'm looking for creeks/rivers that are small, wadeable, and away from crowds to fish for anything. Doesn't have to be monsters. I love to catch and release hard fighting trouts the range of 10-14 inches (what I'm use to in Oregon). I'm looking for places where I can easily access or spend a day hiking out and finding solitude. Also trying to keep budget low...but mainly I like getting out, hiking, enjoying the scenery and hooking into lots of fish regardless of size I heard dry fly may not even be an option in Alaska rivers....mainly eggs, mouse, leech patterns?

Last year I was able to fly fish for steelhead and dollies on the anchor River with the help of a guide. And took my girlfriend and got her little 9 yo sisters that live in homer to hook into some fun dollies But this year I won't have much disposable funds due to medical bills for a guide or flying into different areas

I would greatly appreciate your input!!!

Best,

Mike