The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing Alaska > Alaska General Discussion

Alaska General Discussion Discuss fishing Alaska and other Alaska questions not associated with equipment.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 01:14 AM

fjbr is on a distinguished road
Default Fishing in Alaska

Hi, I'm from Norway and a newbie here. My dream have always been a fishing trip to Alaska, and this seems to be possible within a year.

I need some help deciding when and where I should travel? It would also be great with some good websites on relevant locations.
Appreciate any help and advice.
Old 01-17-2011, 01:59 AM

nerka will become famous soon enoughnerka will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Fishing in Alaska

I am sure the other Alaskans will chime in as well.
Firstly I think it is important to figure out what species you want to target. Is it salmon? If so which of the 5 species? Rainbows? Grayling? Char/Dollies?.

Personally having lived and traveled extensively in the Bristol Bay region I would say to head there, they have the biggest trout and other game fish, as well as the largest runs of salmon. The problem is that for someone who doesnt have a local connection it is fly in only and the lodge prices can get spendy.

Maybe if you could clarify a bit more of what you might want to do and we can give you some pointers.
Old 01-17-2011, 02:55 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton

Hi fjbr,