The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the Caribbean > Belize

Belize Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By duker
  • 1 Post By Ard Stetts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2017, 08:39 PM

duker is a name known to allduker is a name known to allduker is a name known to allduker is a name known to allduker is a name known to allduker is a name known to all
Default Back from the Flats (Turneffe, that is)

Last week I returned home after spending a week at Turneffe Flats in Belize. This was my third time there--my wife and I went there 5 years ago, and I really fell in love with the place. That trip was my first time saltwater fly fishing; after landing my first bonefish on the first morning I was hooked (pun intended).

I'm a rank saltwater novice, and the most complimentary thing anyone could say about my saltwater casting is that it is barely adequate (my guide, bless him, said he'd seen a lot worse). I told my guide right off (as I did on my previous two trips) that I didn't care if I caught lots of fish, or a big fish, or a permit (although if that happened I certainly would be happy), but just wanted to learn, to improve my casting and other saltwater fishing skills. The guides at Turneffe are all excellent, and my guide this trip was no different. After spending the first morning checking me out fishing a flat I'd fished before--landed 4 bonefish, broke off 2 more--he spent the rest of the week putting me on "skinny" water and the most difficult fishing situations I'd ever experienced. I was casting to bones in barely 6 to 8 inches of water--had to be super quiet and stealthy, had to work on my casting and presentation and stripping speed, had to think about what was working and what wasn't and make adjustments (lighter tippet, longer tippets, smaller flies, different flies). To be honest, I didn't land a whole lot of fish but I le