The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing Articles > Coldwater Articles

Coldwater Articles Articles on fly fishing for trout, steelhead, salmon, etc...

Like Tree35Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2014, 03:34 PM

allenvdb is on a distinguished road
Default How to choose the right fly?

Hey guys, I am pretty new to fly fishing and I was just wondering if you guys could help out and tell me how to go about choosing what pattern of fly to use in different waters and at different times of the year?

Thanks Allen
Old 05-15-2014, 05:02 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice
Default Re: How to choose the right fly?

where are you located, or where do you fish? That will be helpful.
Choosing the right fly can be tough sometimes. You can flip over some rocks to see what is around, swing a small aquarium type net thru the water and see if there is something to see that way. A hatch chart is a good resource. If there is a local fly shop, they would know whats happening on the local waters too. Keep your eye on the water to see if you can see anything going on, or fish rising. Spend time observing. Keep a journal, with the stream info, air temps, water temps, what flies worked and when ( i should be doing this lol ).
Basic knowledge of entemology as it pertains to fly fishing is a good thing, to understand the life cycles, from nymphal stage on thru, this helps understand pupa, emergers, flies, spinners etc. This is something i have been attempting to learn.
I have always thought choosing the right fly is the most intimidating part of the whole thing. having all the gear, boxes full of flies, and knowing how to cast is the easy part sometimes. But when it all comes together, thats when the fun begins.
hairwing530 and allenvdb like this.
Old 05-15-2014, 05:09 PM