The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2011, 12:09 AM

only adipose is a jewel in the roughonly adipose is a jewel in the roughonly adipose is a jewel in the rough
Default My Brother the Duck Hunter.. Feather Question?

So as some of you know, I am new to trout fishing. When I told my brother about it, despite wondering why I wanted to fish for something other than Striped Bass, he was thrilled. You see, he has also picked up a new hobby duck/anything with feathers hunting and embraces even the slightest encouragement. So at the mere mention of fly fishing, he butted in with "You know I could get you some nice feathers" and that is exactly what he did. I have plucked countless ducks have many more waiting for me in deep freeze, but have, just tonight, decided that my first batch was ready, partly because I can't wait any longer. Finally my Question-

My brother shot all of these birds. They were immediately frozen. I plucked, removed anything that even resembled meat or blood, microwaved them, and froze again. They have been in frozen for almost 2 months now. I did a little reading about the topic and I am hoping that I won't get any surprise "hatches" in my feather supply. Everything in individually bagged and labeled just in case something needs to be isolated and removed. Also all of these feathers will be stored separately from anything i have spent money on.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Any advise? Anything I missed? I don't want any surprises..

Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by only adipose; 02-04-2011 at 12:29 AM.
Old 02-04-2011, 12:43 AM

colotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: My Brother the Duck Hunter.. Feather Question?

Adipose,