The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2006, 11:41 AM

kraig is on a distinguished road
Default Rookie questions, tippets and leaders

I am a total fly fishing rookie. I have been out fly fishing once on a Colorado mountain stream with a co-worker using all of his gear. I am now trying to figure out a few things. I know what a leader is from fishing for bass with spin reel. I see that tapered leaders are the norm in fly casting. What are the advantages of shorter vs. longer leaders? What wright leader is preferred? What is a tippet? What is the function of a tippet?
How do you match the size of your leader and tippet to your line? If I fishing with a 4 pound line weight what X leader and tippet should I use? Would I want to change leader and/or tippet if I am using dry flies vs. nymphs?
Please help the rookie if you have a few minutes.

kraig
Old 04-09-2006, 02:01 PM

steelheadrob is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to steelheadrob
Default Re: Rookie questions, tippets and leaders

Hi Kraig,

If your are fishing a 4 weight line I am going to assume you are fishing for trout. In that case you would want to use a 4x or 5x leader. Tippet is what you attach to the thin end of your leader. This is usually 1x lighter in strength then your leader. So for a 4x leader normally you would use 5x tippet, 5x leader would be 6x tippet. Normal leader length is normally 8 to 9 feet. The longer the leader the harder it will be to "turn over" (basically it will pile and not flip out straight).

Oh by the way, your tippet length should be somewhere between 1 and 2 feet in length.

Hope this helps,
Rob
Old 04-09-2006, 02:10 PM

troutbum is on a distinguished road