The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2009, 10:03 AM

colotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura about
Default No luck, what do you change and in what order?

One more annoying newbie question:

Let's say that you aren't having much luck. The obvious is something needs to changed. As a scientist, I tend to address one variable at a time (e.g., type of fly is use, or move up stream a bit, etc) and in doing so, I run out of time, literally, without having been able to catch fish. What do you guys do when luck is bad and you need to adjust. Please, be as specific as possible telling us the typical order of your adjustments and how long til the next adjustment.

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-01-2009, 10:59 AM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: No luck, what do you change and in what order?

The first thing that I want to know is what the fish are eating. I will seine the water to see what bugs are floating around and lift up rocks to see what bug life is available.