The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 08:22 AM

barberc6864 has a spectacular aura aboutbarberc6864 has a spectacular aura about
Default Advice for small streams

I am new to fly fishing for trout and was just wondering what everybody thought about good fly patterns to use for this time of year fishing small spring creeks. I plan on going out for my first trip on friday and we have had a warm spell here for the past 5-6 days. I live an hour away from the nearest stream but we have had some snow melt and I am guessing the streams are going to be running a fair amount of water and may be somewhat murky.

My intuition tells me to use larger, brighter patterns and to lean more towards streamers and nymphs, and to lean away from the dries. Perhaps a wolly bugger with some flash added or a bright stimulator pattern may work. I don't know, maybe I'm way off.

Any advice would be great. Thanks.
Old 03-03-2010, 08:50 AM

HuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant future
Send a message via Yahoo to HuronRiverDan
Default Re: Advice for small streams

Barber, it would help if we knew where you were from...Without seeing what the stream conditions are you need to take a good variety of flies to cover what might be happening... The wooly bugger is always a good fly to have with you...

Dan
Old 03-03-2010, 09:05 AM