The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 06:35 PM

cidme is on a distinguished road
Default split shot or sink tips

I am new to trout fishing and I am curious should I be using split shot to get the nymph down near the bottom of a pool thats about 3-4 ft deep or should I should use some t14 as a sink tip? most of the streams I am attempting to fish are small (20ft across or less) and vary from a 1-4ft deep fairly fast moving.

I spent most of my days fly fishing for bass, pans, and pickeral so this stream business is all new.

What about using an indicator?

Thanks in advance
Cidme
Old 04-12-2010, 08:28 PM

thonyb will become famous soon enough
Default Re: split shot or sink tips

hi cidme,

I like to use poly leaders. they come in different lengths and sinking speeds. they are cheaper than sink tips. You can also chop em up because they are kind of long.
Old 04-12-2010, 11:56 PM

GeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to GeorgeMcFly Send a message via Yahoo to GeorgeMcFly

i always just use split shot for the steelhead around here. 1 or 2 bb sized gets um down to the level I need to be at. 2-5ft.

owner of the GL Fishing Forum.
Old 04-13-2010, 12:37 AM