The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Coldwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   What do you throw? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/176097-what-do-you-throw.html)

mytyt 08-24-2011 09:55 PM

What do you throw?

What do you throw when the trout are biting lures for the spin fishers and they aren't hitting my buggers? What about the stripping method? I'm in a tube with my buddy who's killing the on the metal. I'm new at all this and want to learn to get them on the fly and will not go back to the Dark Side

FrankB2 08-24-2011 10:22 PM

Re: What do you throw?

Well.....Are your buggers going deep enough? I tie my own, and weight them according to the depths needed. It takes quite a bit of weight to get a bugger down 3-4 feet if you're fishing streams with moving water. Lakes are easier: let them sink, and then strip back at varying rates until you find one that works. My buggers all have two strips of gold flashabou on each side of the tail, and they also have bead chain eyes. The bead chain eye buggers are killers! I have buggers without eyes or beads for use with bamboo rods, and they don't produce nearly as well as those with eyes.

So...Your friend has flash on his spinner. Do your buggers have flash? Your friend's spinners can go deep without any problem. How deep are your buggers going, and how deep are the trout holding. Size makes a difference as well, and I usually go smaller when a pattern isn't working.

You can't see the bead chain eyes in this photo, but this is the bugger I use 99% of the time (Size #10):
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a80...olybugger2.jpg