The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 02:21 PM

tcampbell011 is on a distinguished road
Default Montana Whitefish Invasion

I'm somewhat new to fly fishing (+/- 2 years). I've been living in Missoula, MT for 3 years and have been trying to teach myself; mostly on the Bitterroot. I normally get out about 3 days a week to fish. Normally I'll catch one or two trout in a 4 hour period and that is totally satisfying. But I always catch a TON of whitefish. (probably because nymphing is my go-to tactic if I don't see fish rising)

This culminated yesterday when I caught about 15 whitefish, with one 8 inch cutthroat. I had a HUGE rainbow grab my nymph and jump into the air, but because I didn't have a net it got away while I was trying to grab it. I'm not complaining because any fish is better than no fish, I would just like to see more trout... because I KNOW they're there.

My question is~
Is there some way to "target" trout as opposed to whitefish? I guess they probably eat the same things available in the river. Are there any specific nymphs that trout will go after more-so than whitefish?
Old 09-22-2011, 03:31 PM

Cool Hand Hodge has a spectacular aura aboutCool Hand Hodge has a spectacular aura aboutCool Hand Hodge has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Montana Whitefish Invasion

If those are the same whitefish we get out here in the Great Lakes...they are delicious! My answer would be to eat all the whitefish!
Old 09-22-2011, 03:55 PM

watson has a spectacular aura aboutwatson has a spectacular aura about

Tossing streamers should do the trick!
Old 09-22-2011, 04:36 PM
Business Member