The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2011, 12:21 AM

tcampbell011 is on a distinguished road
Default What's your method of stripping streamers

How do you strip your streamers? I'm mainly talking about wolly huggers in western rivers. I've heard your supposed to try and mend the line so streamer is broadside to the trout, but should I do long strips or little ones? Also do you put weights on the line?

Sorry for the newbie questions but I've never used a streamer before and I heard you can get some bigger fish. Thanks!
Old 09-25-2011, 12:45 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: What's your method of stripping streamers

Unless I'm fishing in still water I seldom strip them. I use what can best be described as 'greased line swinging' this is the technique that does a good job of moving the fly semi perpendicular to the current or broadside if you like. No weight on the fly and you can make leaders that sink like this.

4' of 25 Lb. Maxima looped to, 2 or 3' of braided lead head looped to 4 - 5 foot of 15 pound Maxima. It will turn over a size 2/0 salmon fly with the proper energy in your delivery and will swing that unweighted fly at about 4- 5 feet of depth with proper line control.

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard