The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2010, 06:45 PM

keeperjb is on a distinguished road
Default Best small stream flies?

I am new to fly fishing and to this forum so I hope I am posting this in the right section. I want to start tying my own flies. I want to keep it simple by tying only a few fly patterns. If you could only bring 5-10 styles of fly what would you choose for a small western NC stream during the summer? Thanks in advance for your help.:
Old 07-05-2010, 07:28 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Best small stream flies?

Welcome to the forum,

The question could be as simple as taking some Elk Hair Caddis and some Adams patterns along the next trip to the stream and looking for what else is hatching there. Picking up a copy of Art Flick's Stream Side Guide to Natural Insects and Their Imitations will be a great help to you.

You don't have to be able to identify every Mayfly or Caddis you see but it is good to understand what you are seeing and how to imitate it. The book will help.

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard

The Alaska Fishing & Outdoors Blog;
Old 07-05-2010, 08:18 PM

Thank you for your help. Ill get that book.
Old 07-05-2010, 08:39 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator