The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2007, 02:56 PM

DLM is on a distinguished road
Default A Dilemma I've Dreamed About

I went to the PM River the other day to play around with the small browns.

I got a couple short strikes under overhangs, but couldn't hook anything. Maybe my reaction is a little slow.

When fishing the same stretch with spinning gear the fish would almost always come out from under submerged dead-fall to hit.

This part might make the purists cringe (remember, I'm a newbie): I pulled out the smallest split shot I had, and after a minute or 2 with a lighter made it even smaller. Clamped it on right in front of the fly (instant sinking fly?) and started working the deadfall. It seemed to work, caught a few small browns.

Now for the dilemma: I worked my way to a serious deadfall and was working under the fringes and something really big hit. Maybe a big brown, or an early salmon. The reports still show the salmon about 15 miles down stream from where I was.

I had to override the drag several times to keep the fish out from under the deadfall (this was a big, twisted, mess of a deadfall). He wasn't much interested in running, just trying to go deep under the wood. I tried a little too hard to get him up and ended up breaking a 5/6 leader.

I retied everything with a heavy leader but had nothing else hit.

Questions:

Is weighting a floating fly taboo? if not is there some "proper" way to do it?

When is a heavy leader too heavy, and what are the downsides of using too heavy a leader?

Thanks in advance,

-Dan
Old 09-21-2007, 03:16 PM
Administrator