The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 09:31 PM

mike63 is on a distinguished road
Default Any tips for fighting large fish in current?

Had a fairly bad day...although it was a day of fishing vs being at the office. Took a face plant digger in the South Platte and having only about a half hour left to fish and a wind-knot-mess-ball I decided to tie on a single #20 Red Copper John and a stick-on indicator and try a few more drifts before deciding to erase this outing from the record books and focus on beer instead.

At the end of an aweful, nowhere near drag free drift, I hooked into a substantial fish. I am still fairly new at this and have caught some pretty large trout on a streamer and a 22" rainbow recently in a lake on a small Parachute Adams, but, no current.

At first I thought I was hung up on a rock and then realized that rocks don't move and strip line off your reel and bend your rod like a wet noodle. He...or it...was downstream of me and using the current which was about 250 cfs today. I knew not to horse this guy but to let him run a bit and reel when I thought he was letting up some. I tried to steer him to some calmer current and walk toward him but I was wading through sharp rocks and uneven bottom, and it was a wind tunnel. When I switched hands to tighten down on the drag he broke off and my fly came hurtling at my face at 80 mph.

I saw the large submarine roll away and a got a glimpse of his large golden side and fat gut. Bummer. Had I gotten him the the net it would have been a great day.

Any pointers on dealing with this scenario? Big fish, tiny fly, 6X tippet, current and not a lot of room to manuever?
Old 07-27-2012, 10:05 PM