The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Coldwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   Montana in July (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/310568-montana-july.html)

mrfzx 02-11-2013 09:03 AM

Montana in July

Well, I am finnally going to do it. That is, fish west of the Mississippi (other than Alaska). Two of my buddies have asked me to accompany them to Monatana the second week of July to fish the Bitterroot, the Selway, and Lochsa rivers/streams/creeks. The problem is I have no experience with the midwestern waters. I want to start planning now.

I am pretty sure my Winston Biit 9' 5wt, and my BVK 9' 5wt will cover most everything I am likely to encounter. One is matched to a Hardy 5000DD and a Rio Gold WF5F line. The other is matched to a Marryat MR7 and a Wulff long belly WF5F, so I think I am good with rods/reels and hardware (tell me if I am wrong).

They have told me to plan on stimulators and terrestrials.....ok.....details please. I know some of you are more than familiar with this area, and I am begging for some help. What should I start tying? Patterns, sizes color variations, etc. please.

rockriver 02-11-2013 10:13 AM

Re: Montana in July

I hope this gives you some ideas. Montana Fly Fishing: Flies For Fly Fishing In Montana & Hatch Chart - FishMontana.com

dhayden 02-11-2013 02:49 PM

People closer will chime in I'm sure.. but July is usually a little early for hoppers.

But it's usually PMD season in a big way.

All the mayfly patterns Linehans mentions look good.. but, like above, that's out of my range. One thing I'd add is your favorite PMD emerger.

ETA: Hoppers always seem to work, but that's just not the peak..

jsquires 02-11-2013 02:59 PM

You choice of gear sounds fine to me.