The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 10:28 PM

lrharge22 is on a distinguished road
Question Where Should I Go!?????

I need every ones help and advice. I am a college student at the Univ. of Oklahoma but I live in West Texas in Midland. I get out of school may 8 and I have 2 weeks until my job starts. I am wanting to go fly fish somewhere and camp as well for 4-5 days. I have not done much fishing out west but I am really interested. Where should I Go. Colorado? New Mexico? Arizona? please give me advice and what rivers. I am interested in catching brown trout and rainbows while wade fishing but open to any ideas!!

-Layton
Old 04-23-2013, 10:39 PM

nrp5087 will become famous soon enoughnrp5087 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Where Should I Go!?????

Alaska.... Its always a blast there but a little pricey so maybe not in the budget
Old 04-23-2013, 10:55 PM

chased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to beholdchased is a splendid one to behold

I may be a bit biased because I live in the area, but I would head directly north and fish the North Platte below Lake Ogallala in Nebraska, huge rainbows, and decent size cutts and browns to be had. Then head west and hit the Miracle Mile and Grey Reef near Casper Wyoming for some streamer chuckin' fun. Head home through Colorado and New Mexico and hit up some some smaller streams. Something along those lines is what I would do for trout. Maybe include Montana in your trip also...

-Chase
Old 04-23-2013, 11:26 PM