The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 04:46 PM

romanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of light
Default fish#1:my first CUTBOW? fish#2: what type of CUTTHROAT is this?

with so many experts on here im sure someone will help me out, since im still a noob and not 100% sure of all the species of Trout.
Question#1
fished Clear Creek in Golden CO today. (really good fishing, tons of Browns)
fish in question #1
looks like a rainbow, but had orange cuts under its throat
so is fish #1 a CUTBOW? because that would be first for me
Click the image to open in full size.

fight before i got fish above i landed a nice rainbow. looks almost identical to fish above, but it DID NOT have orange throat cuts

Question#2
fished Gore Creek in Vail CO few weeks ago
i think i got a cutthroat ,but im not sure what kind and it barely had any spots, it looked almost completely silver.
anyone has any idea what type of cutthroat it is?

reason im asking is im keeping a check list of all the types of trout i catch.
thanks
Old 05-03-2013, 04:49 PM

nickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the roughnickj is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: fish#1:my first CUTBOW? fish#2: what type of CUTTHROAT is this?

Cuttbow and a (should have said I don't know. Ha).

Last edited by nickj; 05-04-2013 at 04:11 PM.
Old 05-03-2013, 04:59 PM

romanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of lightromanl is a glorious beacon of light

ok thanks
so today FISH#1 was a CUTBOW great my first one