The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 07:21 PM

aric is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie with some questions.

Hi,

I am a newbie to fly fishing, really got the bug when I was down in Florida doing some surf fishing. Made my way out to some shallow flats and wished I had a fly rod. Got home and bought a White River kit from Bass Pro after reading reviews on a good starter kit. Talked with the guy in the fly area and bought a few as he called basic flies to start with. I live in east TN, just a few minutes from the Smoky Mountains. Went up there the other day to get my feet wet so to speak and practice casting a bit more.

My questions are, I seemed to have a few good casts, then have some really bad ones. Does it get easier to cast the more you do it? While I was also fishing I saw 4 trout swimming right next to me, towards the direction I was casting. I was using some sort of nymph, forgive me I cannot remember the name, but I had no luck in almost 4 hours of fishing. I guess it's safe to say fly fishing is a lot like other types of fishing when it comes to actually catching a fish. Are there ways to increase my luck, or will catching fish come easier with more experience I get?

Thanks
Old 11-10-2013, 07:30 PM

ia_trouter is a glorious beacon of lightia_trouter is a glorious beacon of lightia_trouter is a glorious beacon of lightia_trouter is a glorious beacon of lightia_trouter is a glorious beacon of lightia_trouter is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Newbie with some questions.