The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By mysticm
  • 1 Post By mysticm
  • 1 Post By alt1001

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2014, 12:55 PM

jburke1 is on a distinguished road
Default Midge hooks and the Davidson

I am fairly new to fly fishing and have just started tying and fishing midges seriously this winter. I have some 18 thru 22 bent shank scud hooks but I am unsure if midges are usually tied on a regular emerger hook. Also I fished the Davidson river in NC for the first time a few weeks ago and used a #18 red zebra midge and only caught a 12" brown. Is 18 to big? I'm also going up again this weekend so if anyone has any pointers it would great thanks
Old 01-15-2014, 01:06 PM

mysticm is a name known to allmysticm is a name known to allmysticm is a name known to allmysticm is a name known to allmysticm is a name known to allmysticm is a name known to all
Default Re: Midge hooks and the Davidson

Here is what has worked for me -

Midges Pupae (Black, Red and Olive) 20 - 24
Midge Adult (Black and Olive) 20 - 24
Streamers (Black and Olive) 8 - 10

Midge Pupae were tied on Tiemco heavy wire scud hooks, Midge adults were tied on Tiemco 100 hooks and the streamers on Tiemco 3x long heavy wire Nymph hooks.

Set up - Double fly rigs (Nymph adult + Pupa) or (Streamer) or (Streamer + Pupa). Long leaders with the finest tippet you can handle per the fly size. Fish deeper pools and get a good drift. If that gets boring, tie on a heavy tippet and lob the streamer by itself. Experiment with various retrieve speeds until you get a strike. Stick with that one...

If you have experience reading water then pretty much any of the pull off areas along the road are good.

OR

Take the easy option and hire a guide from DRO.

Good luck
Old 01-15-2014, 01:21 PM
Administrator