The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2014, 06:54 PM

802flyfish will become famous soon enough
Default Salmon river , New York

Hello,

In the process of planing a trip to Pulaski, NY later this fall. This is my first time on the river and I was curious if anyone has had experience on the river or where to go. I see there a few places where you can pay to access the water. I'll be driving from Vermont and only have 2-3 days to fish so I was thinking I would pay for a day or two depending of people's recommendation. Would a 7wt fly rod be sufficient for types of fish in that particular river? I've yet to purchase a rod for the trip.I currently only own a 4wt, I was thinking about a 7wt. Something I could use for salmon,steelhead, and pike/bass. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-17-2014, 07:48 PM

gzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nice
Default Re: Salmon river , New York

I love fishing there. There are plenty of spots that are great fishing and you don't have to pay. The sportsman pool. The tressel pool, compactor pool and ballpark pool. My best friend has been going for 25 years for a fl week each time. He has always caught his daily limit without having to pay at the douglaston run. You can get a map of the pool locations online. Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

"There are no traffic jams along the extra mile"

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...logs/gzarboni/
Old 04-17-2014, 08:50 PM
Administrator