The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2014, 08:20 PM

raptorrickg is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie Going to Yellowstone needs advice

Hello all. I am just getting into the fly fishing life and need some help. I am going to Yellowstone and the Tetons in mid June and I thought since I am going to be there I might as well learn to fly fish. I am looking for any and all advice on gear to buy, outfitters to contact while there and any other advice you pros can offer a fly fishing virgin. Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 04-24-2014, 08:32 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice
Default Re: Newbie Going to Yellowstone needs advice

best advice I can give is....Start practicing now!
Old 04-24-2014, 08:37 PM

Thanks!! I have been practicing, but the problem is I am not sure what I am doing! LOL I am taking a casting class at Cabelas in a couple of weeks, so hopefully that will help me out on that.
Old 04-24-2014, 08:46 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice

A casting class will help alot. Give this video a look, if you havnt already. YouTube has a enormous selection of how-to vids. This one helped me with my timing and realizeing the cause of my open loops.

Old 04-24-2014, 09:14 PM
Administrator