The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree28Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 10:36 AM

tedwin183 is on a distinguished road
Default Advice for slow, deep pools.

I was up in the Driftless area last week and one of the creeks I was fishing had several slow, deep pools that were very long and narrow. There were lots of bigger fish holding in the middle and tails of these pools, where the water was the slowest. I tried slowly drifting an indicator with basically every fly I had in my box, then switched to terrestrials on top, and nothing would get them to move.

So my question is how would one go about attacking this type of water? This is my first year chasing trout, so a lot of this small creek fishing is very new to me.
Old 08-18-2014, 11:19 AM

imxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of lightimxer is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Advice for slow, deep pools.

Are you sure they were Trout?

Nature, Cheaper than Therapy

LIVE TODAY
Old 08-18-2014, 12:02 PM

jaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond reputejaybo41 has a reputation beyond repute

Stripping streamers is the ticket. I don't overly enjoy fishing that kind of stretch because it's devoid of much of a drift but they can be very productive. I've watched my fishing bud pull out loads of fish and often some larger sized ones from sections of water like that.