The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

Like Tree24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2015, 07:32 PM

jimalexander is on a distinguished road
Default any tips on fishing slow pools?

hi everyone,

im still a newbie at the fly fishing game, and ive been avoiding fishing slow pools, no matter the depth. it seems like no matter what i try, i get nothing. i know its so much easier to spook the whole pool with one wrong move or a stumble, and a splashdown cast and not getting into the water quietly are the best ways to put a whole pool down, but im at a loss as to what flies and strategies to use once i find one that i am sure has some fish in it. ive tried dries that match, nymphs ive seined from the water, but no results.

would some of you more experienced anglers mind sharing your experience and thoughts on this?

thanks,

jim
Old 03-28-2015, 07:56 PM

ia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to beholdia_trouter is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: any tips on fishing slow pools?