The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 11:28 AM

ducktrooper is on a distinguished road
Default bright colored fishing kayaks...spooky?

I'm seriously considering getting an Ocean Malibu Tandem Kayak for flyfishing mostly tailwaters in Arkansas. My concern is they only come in orange or yellow....will that spook trout in shallow water when casting 15-30 ft away.

Thanks.
Old 04-16-2008, 11:45 AM

xjguy07 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bright colored fishing kayaks...spooky?

i dont think it will, but i'm no expert on the fish. i mean hell ppl fish in bright colored shirts and do fine.
Old 04-16-2008, 12:35 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton

Hi ducktrooper,

I don't know the answer but here is a little information.

The Chestnut Canoe company was the leader in wood/canvas canoes in Canada and probably in the world. In their prime they had the best square stern freighter canoes ever made. They did a study on colors of canoes and determined that their flat, light green was the best color to not scare fish. You could always paint the bottom. I was lucky and got one of their canoes right after they went out of business in 1979. It was the greatest fishing boat I ever owned for Alaska.