The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Coldwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   Landing a Fish 101 (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/coldwater-fly-fishing/4601-landing-fish-101-a.html)

Devils Onion 06-09-2008 10:35 AM

Landing a Fish 101

To anybody who can help me out. I am new to fly fishing this year and do most of my fishing in New Jersey. I have started off slow by nymphing however I have been having great success. I generally catch a handful of fish every time I go out. I have landed one 18" rainbow this year but I have had several fish smaller and larger than that one break off after setting the hook and fighting it for awhile. I have tried everything from letting the fish run to trying to fight the fish as much as possible. This is using a 5x leader. What recommendations can you provide on how to land larger fish? Is this one of those things where advice cannot help and I must learn on my own? Any advice would be helpful because we all know the heartbreak and disappointment of having a beautiful fish break off. A bunch of my friends want to go to Roscoe NY this summer however until I figure this out I am not ready to run with the big dogs.

Thanks

Frank Whiton 06-09-2008 11:25 AM

Re: Landing a Fish 101

Hi Devils Onion,

Here is a link to a FAQ post about how to use the fly reel. It has information about fighting a fish from the reel. It should be helpful.

1. Advice will help but you won't get it right with out some experience.

2. The first thing I would do is go up to a 4x tippet. You need all the help you can get until you gain the appropriate experience. If you find the fish are leader shy try using a Fluro tippet in 4X.

3. Your fish fighting technique may be presenting slack to the fish. Only you or a good guide can determine this.