The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2008, 09:57 PM

thelumberjack is on a distinguished road
Default Michigan Fly Advice

Hello everyone! This is my first thread on TNAFFF, so here it goes. I am planning on making a trip to northern Michigan towards the end of july and am going to be in the leelanau county area. I have been researching rivers in the area and am considering trips to the boardman, jorden, and platte rivers. i was hoping to plan ahead and get flies sooner rather than later. can anyone recommend what flies to get for these streams? also, does anyone recommend one of these rivers over the others? please keep in mind that i am relatively new to fly fishing!
Thanks for your help!
Old 07-09-2008, 06:50 AM

HuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant future
Send a message via Yahoo to HuronRiverDan
Default Re: Michigan Fly Advice

Tricos and terrestrials...hoppers to be specific...

Dan
Old 07-09-2008, 11:00 AM

tie one on will become famous soon enoughtie one on will become famous soon enough

I too live in Michigan ( Ada, near Grand Rapids ), but have never fished the rivers you mentioned. My first suggestion is to contact a local fly shop in
the area you will be heading to fish. I know that there is a good fly shop
in the Traverse City area, but cannot think of their name at this moment.
( maybe use goggle to find them ) They should be able to give you advice