The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2008, 06:58 PM

googoo is on a distinguished road
Default Beginner advice needed

Im new to fly-fishing and have an inexpensive starter rod and reel. I need to know how to rig it..It says line size 8, medium action. I need to know about the line, backing, leader , etc. I'm going upstate NY for Salmon, trout steelhead, etc. Let me know of any good spots to fish as well. Thanks in advance. P.S., When and where is primetime for Salmon? Steelhead? Trout?...I guess I need a real fisherman to answer these questions, but I'm psyched to go!
Old 09-06-2008, 09:29 PM
jose will become famous soon enoughjose will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Beginner advice needed

This thread discussion might have some of the info you need for rigging the rod, etc: http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...what-6353.html
Old 09-06-2008, 09:31 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Beginner advice needed

Googoo-

Welcome to fly fishing. Where in NY are you? There's a lot of excellent steelhead fishing in NY around the Salmon River near Pulaski (north of Syracuse), and in western NY.