The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 09:50 AM

glassroddr has a spectacular aura aboutglassroddr has a spectacular aura about
Default landlocks vs brookies

Here's a question that might be of interest to someone working in fisheries management. I thought I would post it here before contacting fisheries managers in my area. I have been fishing a stream (for around 20 years) that is tributary to a large river. It is excellent for brookies, not too much fishing pressure. Now, last year, the wildlife and fish dept. stocked landlock salmon in the river. By late last summer, I started catching them in the stream. They are still smallish (12-14 inches). Do the landlocks have any impact on brookies? Meaning would they compete for spawning areas or for food? Maybe someone on the forum is a biologist or has had this kind of experience.
Old 12-28-2008, 10:05 AM

OldMan will become famous soon enoughOldMan will become famous soon enough
Default Re: landlocks vs brookies

Usually, it's the brookies that will overpopulate a stream. How big are they compared to the salmon?
Old 12-28-2008, 10:17 AM

Well, the brookies range from dinks (4 inches) to decent 12-14 inches. I'm thinking that the landlocks were looking for spawning sites at that time of year. If they successfully spawn, will the young compete with the young brookies next year. Should I expect a drop in age class. I guess only time will tell.
Old 12-28-2008, 10:30 AM

OldMan will become famous soon enoughOldMan will become famous soon enough

I'm not experienced enough to give you a good answer. I know brookies are real survivors and will probably do ok. You have some nice size brookies. I'm jealous.
Old 12-28-2008, 10:48 AM