The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 08:30 PM

DreamOfMountainStreams is on a distinguished road
Default what is a good but affordable fly line?

im new to fly fishing so i have been reading some books. one i have learned the most from is the LL Bean Hand Book To Fly Fishing. it states in one section that when choosing fly line you should always try to use the same brand from backing to tippet (this is to prevent any inconsistencies between manufacturers regarding breaking strength). i have a 6 wt. reel and a 9 ft 6 wt. rod. was wondering if anyone would recommend some brands that i could consider that is good but affordable?
Old 01-05-2009, 09:08 PM

OldMan will become famous soon enoughOldMan will become famous soon enough
Default Re: what is a good but affordable fly line?

This doesn't sound right. Are you sure they didn't mean all the material in a leader should be the same brand?
Old 01-05-2009, 09:28 PM

Jackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant futureJackster has a brilliant future

Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamOfMountainStreams View Post
recommend some brands that i could consider that is good but affordable?
If you can find some Rio or Scientific Anglers lines of last years models they'll be some of the finest lines out there at half the price many paid.
Old 01-05-2009, 10:08 PM

jdorsey61 has a spectacular aura aboutjdorsey61 has a spectacular aura about