The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Coldwater Fly Fishing

Coldwater Fly Fishing Trout, Salmon, Steelhead, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 08:40 PM

only adipose is a jewel in the roughonly adipose is a jewel in the roughonly adipose is a jewel in the rough
Default Any Good Books???

I am looking for book recommendations. I am looking for two different kinds of books.

First, I'm looking for something that goes into trout biology/life-cycle kind of thing. I would love something written for the average person, but considering I'm looking for something of depth, I'll work my way through a science laden read.

Second, I am looking for more books on techniques, skills, reading water, etc but not for the beginner. I feel like most books I pick up are for the complete novice. Here I would prefer something more technical, as I want to become better faster, but I just started reading "Trout Bum" and cant put it down. So I guess I'm asking for books that you feel made you a better fisherman.

I am still new at the trout game and would really appreciate any recommendations, thanks.
Old 01-18-2011, 11:13 PM

milt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond reputemilt spawn has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Any Good Books???

Trout and Salmon of North America by Dr. Robert Behnke and Joe Tomelleri (illustrator). Scientific, beautiful, and informative. milt.
Old 01-19-2011, 12:34 AM

colotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura aboutcolotrout has a spectacular aura about