The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Entomology (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/entomology/)
-   -   Entomology App? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/entomology/318960-entomology-app.html)

rampaige 05-09-2013 04:55 PM

Entomology App?

Anyone know of a good fly ID app? I'm just starting out so it would really help if I could identify what I'm seeing on the water and had a little help with selecting a fly from my box to use.

jcw355 05-09-2013 05:43 PM

Re: Entomology App?

Dont know of one but can tell you a pheasant tail nymph and hares ear nymph will cover most mayfly nymphs. Dry flies will be different though. You need to learn from locals, flyshops, fishing reports on what bugs are hatching local to you and go from there. The internet and google are your friend. I'm sure if you give us more info on where you fish someone can help you here

rampaige 05-09-2013 07:24 PM

I fish in CT. I had good luck with PTN's last week. But that was really just a shot in the dark and I got lucky.

jaybo41 05-09-2013 09:15 PM

I don't know of any hatch specific apps, but admittedly I haven't looked for one. Looking over the hatch charts and finding a good book that outlines the hatches in the region I'm fishing has always worked for me. That would be my suggestion to you.

If you're still on the hunt for some apps, it would be helpful to know which platform you're using. I know Orvis has an App, but I don't believe it's hatch specific. People have said it's a good beginner's app though. Most of the fly fishing related apps I have seen are not. As an alternative, why not bookmark a webpage that has hatch information and use that.

Call me old school, I like the books.

Hardyreels 05-09-2013 10:23 PM