The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > Flies and Fly Tying for Spey Fishing

Flies and Fly Tying for Spey Fishing From classic salmon flies to sunray shadows. Anything salmon love to take after a great cast!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Hardyreels
  • 1 Post By darwin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2014, 12:15 AM

thenewlushlife is a glorious beacon of lightthenewlushlife is a glorious beacon of lightthenewlushlife is a glorious beacon of lightthenewlushlife is a glorious beacon of lightthenewlushlife is a glorious beacon of light
Default Dying feathers

Hey there everybody.
So I am new to dying feathers, I got myself some acid dyes. I am attempting to dye some rhea feathers, very similar to ostrich herl. At any rate the rhea feathers are natural, but have a grey color to them, given that acid dyes are transparent I've been told the colors won't turn out properly. Some have told me to bleach the feathers first, I don't love that idea. Others have told me to use silk paint as dye given that it's opaque and will cover the natural grey color of the feathers. Does anyone have experience with dying feathers that aren't naturally white? I'm looking for some advice on how to dye these feathers, thanks!
P.s. I am planning to dye the feathers blue & light blue, both colors of acid dye I already purchased.
Old 06-08-2014, 01:55 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute