The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Flies (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/)
-   -   Flies to get for starters? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/12844-flies-get-starters.html)

shenvalley 03-01-2010 08:51 PM

Flies to get for starters?

I'm new to the sport and recently been buying imitators. At the urging of a fellow angler, I've been told to start picking up some attractors. I've settled on a few classic attractor patterns to start (Adams, Wulff, Hare's Ear, Pheasant Tail) but am now wondering if I need all of the different versions. By that I mean an Adams pattern in the following versions: Dry Dun, Spinners, CDC Parachute, CDC Biot Parachute, Compara-dun, Emergers, Loop wing emerger, Sparkle Dun...all of them are Adams.

Does anyone have any advice on just the versions of these patterns I should start with? Thanks for any of your advice!

oregonism 03-01-2010 09:44 PM

Re: Flies to get for starters?

I've generally always fished "attractor" patterns in various shapes and sizes and they will often work. This is actually the first year I plan to do a lot of research on matching the hatch in hopes of having a more productive year for trout. My favorites are the parachute adams in various colors and sizes, especially for streams. The Wulff also rides high in the water and I've caught a huge amount of fish on it. I think one of my favorite dries, though, is the royal coachman in various sizes. I've always had good luck with it.

For nymphs, I prefer the flashback pheasant tail, prince and hare's ear. They can all be very productive and tied/bought in various sizes and colors to match various hatches.

Edit: meant the "irresistible wulff". It's got a elk hair body and rides super high in the water. Perfect for stream fishing.

MoscaPescador 03-01-2010 10:54 PM

Attractors are very productive. I'm partial to humpies, trudes, and large foam hoppers/ants.