The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Flies (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/)
-   -   Cork Poppers: Hook Install? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/139684-cork-poppers-hook-install.html)

atanger 05-20-2011 07:04 PM

Cork Poppers: Hook Install?

I am new to fly fishing and thought I would try my hand at making some some poppers for warm water fish and need some insights on how to place the hook? I was planning to insert the hook through the cork but I have also came upon designs where some have notched out a section for the hook. Is there any difference btwn two methods or is there a better more effective way to install the hook?

Rip Tide 05-22-2011 03:56 PM

Re: Cork Poppers: Hook Install?

I've never tried drilling a hole and poking the shank through, so I can't compare.
Notching out the bottom works perfectly well for me, especially with foam. Krazy Glue pulls it together in a practically seamless joint as you squeeze.
With cork, I'll use epoxy and fill in the gap at the same time I'm gluing the body on.

What I do is cut a kerf in the body with a tool I made from a broken jigsaw blade glued in a dowel handle. I stand when I do this as you can more easily see if you're cutting it straight.
Then I'll rough up the hook shank with an emery board and wrap the area, widely spaced, with size D rod winding thread. The thick stuff.
Then glue the body on as above.

Rip Tide 05-22-2011 06:45 PM

Actually, I have made poppers with the body drilled to accept the hook shank.
"Bob's Bangers" are designed to have replaceable heads and so aren't glued on.

a Bob's Banger

http://www.eefishent.com/Q08_Bob%27s%20banger.jpg

atanger 05-23-2011 09:38 AM