The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 10:04 AM

new_fly is on a distinguished road
Default Fly Identification?

Hi, I'm new to fly fishing. I recently moved to Fernie BC and we have some of the best dry fly river fishing in BC so I decided it was time to learn. I acquired some equipment from my dad and he sent along a few flies to help get me started. He wasn't sure what I was going to need though because he mostly fishes lakes.

Can anyone identify these flies left to right and tell me what they might be good for? Thanks for your help! If it you need it bigger you can click on it.

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 09-10-2011, 11:38 AM

bigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant futurebigjim5589 has a brilliant future
Default Re: Fly Identification?

First, you have to understand that there are many, many fly patterns tied as local favorites that you may never see in any type of publication, so they may not even have names, or only names that would be known to a small group of anglers. Also, there are likely hundreds of variations of known patterns, so identifying a specific pattern is often difficult, especially when they're used or have been stored in a fly box for a long time as these look to have been.