The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 09:17 PM

garookie is on a distinguished road
Default rigging

High guys. im new to flyfishing. Im a bait cast and spinning guy. I was wondering if I could use a clasp in the end of the tippit instead of tieing and untie flies if I need to change flies out. thanks for the info.
Old 04-22-2013, 09:21 PM

rangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to all
Default Re: rigging

It depends on the pattern of the fly. If you're fishing streamers/buggers/zonkers etc., then go right ahead. However, I don't think it will work with small dries.
"Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn." ~Chuck Clark
Old 04-22-2013, 09:23 PM

thank you. what is a zonker. ive never heard of that type of fly.
Old 04-22-2013, 09:31 PM

rangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to all

Zonker may not be exactly the right name. It's a minnow pattern, using a length of bunny strip, commonly called a zonker strip. fished similar to a deceiver minnow, but has more 'action.'
"Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn." ~Chuck Clark
Old 04-23-2013, 07:38 AM