The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

Like Tree14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2013, 09:52 AM

gzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nicegzarboni is just really nice
Default New to fly tying. I need some help.

Hello all.
I am new to fly fishing. I have been at it for about a year. I decided that I want to tie my own flies. I met a lady whose husband tied flies and unfortunatly he passed away. I have purchased most of his stuff. I got 2 vises and a threader, bobbins and few other tools that I do not know what they are. I have about 100 containers of necks and feathers and buck tails. The problem is I don't have any thread. I have been doing some reshearch and what does it mean 0/3 or 0/6 for the thread? I am thinking that it is the diameter. I also would like to purchase thread and wire and a whip finisher and hair stacker. I will be tying flies mostly for trout, so can you make any suggestions as to where I can purchase these items online and what brands are good ones. As for the hair stacker, do I get all three sizes or is there a size for trout flies? Any help you can provide will be greatly apperciated. Thanks Glen.

"There are no traffic jams along the extra mile"

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...logs/gzarboni/
Old 09-24-2013, 10:28 AM

planettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud ofplanettrout has much to be proud of
Default Re: New to fly tying. I need some help.

Here is a (dated) basic primer on threads that has been posted before:

Frontrangeanglers.com - Choosing the Right Thread