The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2008, 05:01 PM

dorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nice
Default What exactly are scuds?

Sorry...I am still relatively new to all the entomology. What exactly are scuds? I have about ten of them in my fly box in about 4 different colors, but I don't know what they are supposed to match.
Old 02-18-2008, 05:05 PM

tie one on will become famous soon enoughtie one on will become famous soon enough
Default Re: What exactly are scuds?

If I'm not mistaken they are to mimic a larva stage,
similar to a maggot. They are great flies. I've caught
lots of different species on those flies.

It's always good to carry various colors, it's give you
many options.

Tie One On
Old 02-18-2008, 05:34 PM

dorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nicedorian.ducker is just really nice

Larva of what?
Old 02-18-2008, 05:46 PM

GeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to beholdGeorgeMcFly is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to GeorgeMcFly Send a message via Yahoo to GeorgeMcFly

I believe scuds are freshwater shrimp. here ya go "Insects for Beginners - 101, Part 5 - Scuds and Sowbugs FAOL"

owner of the GL Fishing Forum.
Old 02-18-2008, 10:44 PM

doc will become famous soon enough