The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Mnflyfish
  • 1 Post By joe1985
  • 4 Post By williamhj

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2014, 09:29 PM

joe1985 is on a distinguished road
Default New to the sport, need advice.

Hey everyone, I'm just starting out fly fishing and have a trip planned for the end of May. I have very little idea on what types of flies to use for this time of year. I'll be fishing the Lochsa river in Idaho near the Montana border. Any advice would help out a ton, I'm a complete novice and would appreciate the boost. Thanks.
Old 05-05-2014, 10:58 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice
Default Re: New to the sport, need advice.

What do you have for a rod n reel? Best advice is to start practicing your cast now, before you go in your trip.

Sent from my iPhone
fredaevans likes this.
Old 05-05-2014, 11:22 PM

A 6 weight rod with a Cabelas prestige plus reel. Not a great set up but I've been practicing a lot in the common area near my house. I've been before with a friends gear, just not sure about what types of patterns would work best for the time of year and location.
Mnflyfish likes this.
Old 05-06-2014, 12:15 AM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute

I'd start with a hatch chart like this one:
Lochsa River, ID