Is it the pattern or the presentation??

busbus

Reaction score
I have been doing a lot reading during these dark, damp, cold winter days and have read some interesting things. The more I read, the more I have been seeing a running theme that too many of us tend to switch flies when we aren't catching anything. Instead, we should be paying more attention to how we are presenting whatever fly we have tied at the end of our line.

At first, I dismissed this because I wanted to believe the reason I don't catch enough fish is because I don't know what fly to use when. Or, maybe it is my line or leader. Or maybe even the rod.

It could be a thousand different things but the one thing I usually left out was me. Not just my (bad) casting ability but by casting too much and to the wrong spots and at the wrong time. But it is also my lack of presentation skills and the fact that I am a novice at, well, everything. It's okay to be a novice but I was focusing on and changing the wrong things.

If I look back at the many questions I have asked here over the past couple years, I see so many times that the most experienced guys were trying to tell me to focus on fishing the fly right instead of trying to figure out which fly to use in a certain situation. The suggestion was made that every fly can catch fish, especially the classics, and if I was not catching fish, it wasn't the fly I chose.

I cannot believe it has taken me this long to figure this out. So, I would like to add to a thread that has been going around about New Years resolutions. I want to say that I am going to stick to a minimum number of fly patterns all year and learn how to fish them right.

I want to see if I can tie a fly on when I get started and take the same one off several hours later--hopefully with a number of fish in-between.

I resolve to go out with the notion of it being practice and, if I catch something, it will be because I have been practicing correctly.