How many for a rookie?

ab4usa

Reaction score
I'm just starting out. I need to buy flies. I have been through a book about fly fishing in my area (Maryland) and have a list of 16 or 17 different patterns in 2 to 3 sizes for each pattern. That's 32 to 51 flies if I just buy one of each. Not to mention a couple that I can't find. So how many do I buy? One of each? 2? There is one web site where you buy a dozen at a time. While their prices look great, the start up cost is daunting. Any help would be appreciated.

Greenwood

Reaction score
I don't envy you having to start from scratch. But, I'd think 3 of a given size/pattern would be a good starting point. You know - 1 to lose, 1 to fish with and 1 for the backup in case that's the only thing working that day!

BigCliff

Reaction score
If you can tell us what species you're after and what type of water you're fishing, I bet we could accurately recommend 5 flies you could take 3 each of and be set up well.

Whether 15 gets you through the day depends on your casting ability, of course.

Flyfisher for men

Reaction score
BigCliff is right on target. Five different flies with 2 duplicates would probably serve you well.

Two other options: When I first fished for trout, I went into a local flyshop, bought a license, and asked the man behind the counter for a couple of appropriate leaders and ten flies that would work in the stream. He set me up with several flies that I know now are are old standards in trout fishing and a couple that worked really well in that particular stream. If you've got a flyshop in your area, that might be a way to do it.

Another possibility is to get a box of ten to fifteen assorted basic flies appropriate to the species. They have them in many shops and stores like Cabelas and Bass Pro.

Davo

Reaction score